Fifty pounds to be exact!  Rayna and Lisa arrived at 7 am (and called me to find out  I was still drinking coffee in my nightee at my house).  I arrived 5 minutes later because I live 4 minutes from the Shoppe, and the fun began. First we cleaned the grapes from the  stems.  This variety has seeds, which makes no nevermind to our process.

picking through the bounty
picking through the bounty

Then we grind and cook (this is called grape must)  and strain out the seeds –

grape must in the making
grape must in the making

it’s important to pose for pictures

Rayna with the perfect Bunch
Rayna with the perfect Bunch

Turn everything several shades of purple

Magnificent magenta
Magnificent magenta

Then sterilize, eat lunch and  put up.  37 jars of jelly, 3 jars of Saba and 4 quarts of grape juice.

Put up with me, I promise results
Put up with me, I promise results
